Malachi Thompson Freebop Now! The 20th Anniversary of The Freebop Band
Delmark DE-506 $15.99

With Billy Harper, Oliver Lake, Amiri Baraka The Freebop Band had its origins in New York in the fall of 1978 as part of the loft jazz scene. However, the idea of Freebop as a personal concept had its roots in Chicago beginning in 1968 with Malachi's experiences in the AACM. Combined with his appreciation for the legendary boppers Clifford Brown, Lee Morgan and Freddie Hubbard a seed was planted. Malachi's blending of straight ahead and avant garde jazz have challenged the imagination, defied category and have allowed Malachi to discover his own voice and identity. Freebop Now! is jazz trumpet at its best. Includes a '93 performance featuring Carter Jefferson and Joe Ford. Contains mostly new original Thomspon compositions.

Malachi Thompson appears on:
Timeline, The Jaz Life, Lift Every Voice, New Standards, 47th Street, and Rising Daystar

Song List:
1. Black Nile
2. Goree Island
3. Flight To Senegal
4. Freebop Now!
5. Just A Look
6. 'Round Midnight
7. Cancerian Moon
8. Jammin' At The Point
9. Worm Hole
10. Ancient African Horns
11. Black Hole
12. Heathens And Space/Time Projection
13. Jammin' At The Point (Reprise)

You can listen to tracks or buy MP3s by clicking below, or by visiting sites such as iTunes, eMusic and others.

If the portal doesn't work in your browser or is ad-blocked, you can get the same audio below:

Amazon audio link, Delmark 506.

Home to the Delmark Home Page