Ernest Dawkins' New Horizons Ensemble Jo'burg Jump
DE-524 $15.99

Jo'burg Jump is named after the enthusiasic response that audiences in Johannesburg, South Africa and Mozambique had to the music of the New Horizons Ensemble. Leader Ernest Dawkins said "They were literally jumping up and down, dancing on tables. I was struck by how much our avant-garde music and their music have in common." But that's not surprising. Even though Ernest is chairman of The AACM and he uses "avant-garde" to describe his music the NHE always remains accessible yet vital. What is surprising is that this is their first U.S. CD. The ensemble has been together more than a decade and have a reputation as one of Chicago's best. Ernest Dawkins, tenor and alto sax; Ameen Muhammad, trumpet; Steve Berry, trombone; Yosef Ben Israel, bass; Avreeayl Ra, drums; and guest Jeff Parker, guitar.

For more info on Ernest Dawkins, check out this article from the Chicago Reader.

Song List:
1. Stranger
2. Jo'Burg Jump
3. The Gist Of It
4. Shorter Suite
5. Goldinger
6. Turtle Island Dance
7. Transcension

You can listen to tracks or buy MP3s by clicking below, or by visiting sites such as iTunes, eMusic and others.

If the portal doesn't work in your browser or is ad-blocked, you can get the same audio below:

Amazon audio link, Delmark 524.

Home to the Delmark Home Page