Common Ground
High Voltage
Delmark DE 564 $15.99

High Voltage documents the groundbreaking musical explorations of electric violinists Zach Brock and Tom Wright. Taking the violin ever farther toward its possibilities as the ultimate jazz axe, their band, Common Ground, offers six original compositions and covers of two jazz classics, with a bold arrangement of "Freedom Jazz Dance," and closes with George Harrison's "Within You, Without You." Both violins are 5-string electrics, and the amplified sound is embraced for its dynamic range and tonal freedom. A potent rhythm section drives the ensemble, with veteran bassist Mike Arnopol, versatile drummer Tom Hipskind, and a brilliant new pianist, Jordan Baskin.

You can listen to tracks or buy MP3s by clicking below, or by visiting sites such as iTunes, eMusic and others.


If the portal doesn't work in your browser or is ad-blocked, you can get the same audio below:

Amazon audio link, Delmark 564.

Delmark Home Page