Robert Nighthawk recorded for United at its first day of sessions and two of United's first five releases were by "Robert Nighthawk and his Nighthawks Band". He had a national hit in late '49 on Aristocrat and perhaps United envisioned Nighthawk as its blues-singing slide guitar rival to Chess' Muddy Waters. Sales didn't pan out but to many he is the ultimate slide guitarist of the amplified blues era, one who influenced Muddy Waters, Elmore James and Earl Hooker. B.B. King cited Nighthawk as one of his "10 Favorite Guitarists" in "Guitar Player" magazine. Today, more than 30 years after his death, Nighthawk is ranked among the greats in blues history. Contains two previously unissued alternate takes. Budget Priced!

Part of our United Series.

Song List:
1. Crying Won't Help You
2. Take It Easy, Baby
3. Seventy-Four
4. Maggie Campbell (Alternate)
5. The Moon Is Rising
6. Nighthawk Boogie
7. Kansas City
8. You Missed A Good Man
9. Bricks In My Pillow
10. Seventy-Four (Alternate)
11. U/S Boogie
12. Feel So Bad
13. Maggie Campbell
14. The Moon Is Rising (Incomplete)

Home to the Delmark Home Page