Guitarist Dave Specter has always straddled the blues / jazz fence with a hip disregard for arbitrary restrictions. On Speculatin', his sixth Delmark CD, Dave has put his distinctive mark on a collection of outstanding instrumental tunes from all corners of these related genres, tossing in a latin beat and some greasy organ in addition to his unmistakable West Side and Texas-inspired blues licks. The result will please all lovers of lean, inspired guitar work and will astound the blues buyer who previously considered instrumentals to be mere CD filler. Speculatin' features nine original compositions and covers of tunes by Charles Earland, The Meters, Dizzy Gillespie and Junior Walker. Dave is accompanied by his working band of Rob Waters, Hammond B3 organ; Harlan Terson, bass; Mike Schlick, drums; and Rich Parenti, tenor sax.

"His funky lines echo the jazz masters, but his grinding single-note work is greasy enough for any Windy City after-hours club." -Guitar Player

"This is easily the best-recorded showcase yet for Specter's classy guitar stylings." - Living Blues

"Quintessentially hip and swinging." - Chicago Tribune

"Specter is indeed 'all that'." - Blues Access

Song List:
1. At Whit's End
2. Blues A-La-King
3. Texas Top
4. The Mighty Burner
5. Birk's Works
6. Look-Ka Py Py
7. The Haleiwa Shuffle
8. Blues For Magic Sam
9. Hot Cha
10. Jade's Dance
11. Minor Side Down
12. Speculatin'
13. Dark Hour Blues

Also featuring Dave Specter:

Bluebird Blues with Barkin' Bill Smith
Blueplicity with Tad Robinson
Live in Europe with Tad Robinson
Left Turn on Blue featuring Lynwood Slim & Jack McDuff
Blues Spoken Here with Lenny Lynn
Is What It Is with Steve Freund.
Live in Chicago with guests on CD & DVD.

Delmark Home Page